Durango honors school employees

Durango School District 9-R staff members gathered for the annual employee appreciation event this week. Sponsored by the nonprofit Durango Foundation for Educational Excellence, Thursday’s event celebrated 9-R staff members and spotlighted a few whose work stood out this year.

Barbara McLachlan won high school teacher of the year.

Jason Thomas won middle school teacher of the year.

Lori Smith and Jeb Holt won elementary school teachers of the year.

Sonja Miera, Gloria Smiley and Marian Huffman won non-teaching staff members of the year.

Honored staff members were chosen by district employees.

The foundation also recognized Needham Elementary School Principal Pete Harter for his years of dedication to the district. Harter will retire as principal at the end of this school year.

Durango Foundation for Educational Excellence supports the district’s schools with funding for programs, materials and technology. This year, the foundation awarded $55,000 in grants that funded resource books, summer reading tutoring and Xoom tablets.

Comments » Read and share your thoughts on this story