Demons get the 5-seed and District 4

Jerry McBride/Durango Herald file photo

Connor Dugan and the Durango High School baseball team will lead off the Class 4A state tournament Saturday at home against No. 28 Delta. Durango earned the No. 5 seed and the right to host the District 4 tournament.

Herald Staff Report

Thirty-two teams. Eight hosts.

Durango High School was ranked fifth in the Class 4A state tournament, and the Demons will serve as one of those eight hosts Saturday.

No. 5 DHS, 12-7 and Southwestern League champion, will host No. 28 Delta (11-8) at 10 a.m. Saturday. No. 12 Canon City (15-4) will play No. 21 Wheat Ridge (11-8) at 12:30 p.m. Saturday at DHS.

The District 4 championship will be played at 3 p.m. Saturday at DHS.

The eight district champions will be repooled for the double-elimination elite eight May 18-19 at Coca-Cola All-Star Park in Lakewood and Cherokee Trail High School in Aurora.

Air Academy (17-2) is the No. 1 seed in the state tournament, then is followed by No. 2 Broomfield (15-4), No. 3 D’Evelyn (14-5) and No. 4 Cheyenne Mountain (15-4).

The other hosts are No. 6 Northridge (13-6), No. 7 Montrose (16-3) – the only other SWL team in the bracket – and No. 8 Evergreen (14-5).

Also from the SWL:

Grand Junction (13-6) earned the No. 20 seed in the CHSAA Class 5A Boys Baseball State Championships and will open against No. 13 Ralston Valley at 12:30 p.m. Saturday at host and No. 4 seed Columbine High School.

Fruita Monument (11-8) earned the No. 27 seed in the 5A field and will open against host and No. 6 seed Dakota Ridge (15-3) at 10 a.m. Saturday in Littleton.

Most Read in Sports



Arts & Entertainmentarrow




Call Us

View full site

© The Durango Herald