Sports Extra

College Football

College Hall names coaches, players and Coloradoans

NEW YORK – Art Monk of Syracuse, Dave Casper of Notre Dame and Jonathan Ogden of UCLA are among 14 former players who have been selected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former coaches Phillip Fulmer of Tennessee, Jimmy Johnson, who coached Miami and Oklahoma State, and R.C. Slocum of Texas A&M also were selected.

It was announced Monday that Heisman Trophy winner and BYU star Ty Detmer was picked for the Hall of Fame.

The other players who will be inducted by the National Football Foundation into the hall in December are:

Running backs Charles Alexander of LSU and Otis Armstrong or Purdue; quarterbacks Steve Bartkowski of California and Tommy Kramer of Rice; defensive backs Scott Thomas of Air Force and Greg Myers of Colorado State; split end Hal Bedsole of Southern California; defensive end Gabe Rivera of Texas Tech; linebacker Mark Simoneau; and guard John Wooten of Colorado.

DENVER – Three Colorado football players are joining the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

The newest members include John Wooten, an offensive guard at the University of Colorado from 1956-1958, Greg Myers, a Colorado State University defensive back from 1992 to 1995, and Scott Thomas, an Air Force Academy safety from 1982-1985.

According to the College Hall of Fame, of the nearly 5 million players and coaches who have participated in college football in the last 143 years, just more than a thousand have been inducted, recognizing their achievements.


Irving voted No. 1 rookie ahead of Rubio, Faried

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio – Cavaliers guard Kyrie Irving is the NBA’s Rookie of the Year, winning the award with the same ease as he dribbled past defenders this season.

Irving received 117 of 120 possible first-place votes from a nationwide media panel of 120 writers and broadcasters. Irving finished with 592 points, way ahead of Minnesota’s Ricky Rubio (170) and Denver’s Kenneth Faried (129), who was third.

Faried, San Antonio’s Kawhi Leonard and New York’s Iman Shumpert received the other first-place votes.

The 20-year-old No. 1 overall pick led all rookies – and the Cavs – in scoring with 18.5 points per game. He also led all rookies in field-goal percentage (46.8), was second in assists (5.4).

College Basketball

VCU takes ‘the next step’ from the CAA to the A-10

RICHMOND, Va. – VCU is looking to make the most of its rise to prominence in men’s basketball, and President Michael Rao said moving to the Atlantic 10 is “the next step.”

The president said at a news conference Tuesday that VCU is leaving the Colonial Athletic Association to join the A-10. Rao said the move will take effect in all sports July 1, 2012.


Rodriguez wins 10th stage and takes the Giro lead

ASSISI, Italy – Spain’s Joaquin Rodriguez took the overall lead in the Giro d’Italia from Canada’s Ryder Hesjedal on Tuesday after winning the hilly 10th stage with a sprint finish.

One of the prerace favorites, Rodriguez finished the 116-mile leg from Civitavecchia to Assisi in 4 hours, 25 minutes, 5 seconds for his first Giro stage win.

Guess who? Sagan again in Stage 3 in California

LIVERMORE, Calif. – Sprinter Peter Sagan of Slovakia surged to the front in the final 100 yards to win his third consecutive stage and extend his race lead Tuesday in the third stage of the Tour of California.

Sagan swung wide to the right to edge Heinrich Haussler of Australia for the third day en route to claiming the 115.3-mile San Jose to Livermore road race in 4 hours, 50 minutes and 49 seconds.

Associated Press