Education Briefs

Caitlin Barrett graduates from DU with distinction

Caitlin Barrett of Durango graduated Summa Cum Laude with distinction in anthropology from the University of Denver.

Barrett, daughter of Patrick and Lisa Barrett of Durango is a 2008 graduate of Durango High School. Barrett will begin work this fall on a masterís degree in museum studies at The University of Leicester in England.

High school students attend Christian event at FLC

More than 1,000 high school students learned about the issues related to absent fathers and discovered ways to overcome the statistics during a week-long program at Fort Lewis College hosted by Christ In Youth.

Peoria, Ariz.-based Christís Church of the Valley was in Durango from June 11 to 15 to attend the event.

The high-schoolers-only event was designed to amplify the call of Christ on studentsí lives to become kingdom workers. Attendees were led in worship throughout the week by Christian artist Danny Larsh while speaker Mark Moore, former professor at Ozark Christian College, preached.

Local students graduate from online academy

GOAL Academy announces the graduation of these students from the Pagosa Springs area: Susan Candelaria, Kimberley Hunsicker, Jesse Ochoa, Colin Oliver, Joseph Onello and Aric Swan.

Hunsicker was awarded these scholarships: Eddie Oldham Memorial Scholarship, $3,000; Goal Academy Scholarship, $500; Northwestern Oklahoma State University Marching Band Scholarship, $900; Northwestern Oklahoma State University Audition Scholarship, $500; and Northwestern Oklahoma State University Freshman Preview Scholarship, $400.

Onello was awarded these scholarships: Pagosa Noon Rotary Votec Scholarship, $1,500; Goal Academy Scholarship, $500; Across Wyoming Scholarship, which covers up to 13 credit hours per semester and fees including the difference in cost for out-of-state versus in-state tuition costs; and Eastern Wyoming Book Scholarship which covers up to $600 per semester for books

GOAL Academy is a free public online school serving students in ninth through 12th grades.

For more information, visit or call (877) 776-4625.

Jazmin Stoner earns academic honors at Bryant

Jazmin Stoner, a senior in applied psychology from Durango was named to the spring semester Deanís List at Bryant University in Smithfield, R.I.

Stoner also was named to the spring semester Presidentís List. Presidentís List is an academic distinction reserved for Bryantís highest achievers with the students earning a semester grade-point average of 4.0.

Jake Coutlee named to Cal Poly Presidentís List

Jake Coutlee, a 2010 Durango High School graduate, finished his second year in mechanical engineering and was named to the Presidentís List for the second consecutive year at California Polytechnic State University.

To be named to the Presidentís List, a student must achieve a 3.5 grade-point average in all three quarters.

Coutlee, son of Craig and Kathy Coutlee, will attend Swinburne University in Melbourne, Australia, in July through an exchange program for engineers at Cal Poly.

Kelsey McLean named to Gonzaga Presidentís List

Kelsey McLean, a resident of Durango, has earned placement on the Gonzaga University Presidentís List for spring semester 2012.

Students must earn a 3.7 to 4.0 grade-point average to be listed. Gonzaga is located in Spokane, Wash.

Escalante Middle announces honor roll

Escalante Middle School named these students to the third trimester Honor Roll

Sixth grade: Emma Aggeler, Areana Albo, Ariel Albo, Sabina Albright, Hailey Anderson, Krystalyn Anderson, Jenna Beckley, Haley Benjamin, Manasseh Brockus, Abigail Burrows, Jason Caplin, Summer Clay, Maia Collins, Lexie Crawford, Leah Crowe, Kaitlyn Dunn, Trent Durnen, Jocelyn Earl, Chamisa Edd, Jackson Eggleston, Kye Engle, Kira Ewing, Mercedez Farley, Oakley Felker, Mary Fenberg, Kirsten Fogel, Andrew Footlik, Cydney Funk, Teagan Garand, Dalton Garrett, Sterling Gates, Cheyenne Gaudreault, Ryan Genualdi, Kari Golden, Suanna Gustavson, Alison Hall, Katherine Hallin, Mika Harrison, Josiah Herrera, Lucille Hickcox, Micah Hwang, Maxton Hyson, Kade Jackson, Chandler Jeep, Lucas Jernigan, Sienna Johnson, Sarah Kain, Elanah Kalinowska, Clay Kinder, Dylan King, Taylor Klone, Garrett Krispin, Amy Leonard, Jasmine Madril, Afton Mann, Gabriel Marin, Kaleb McMunn, Cassandra Merkel, Quelan Mestas, Theron Millonzi, Natalie Miner, Megan Munoz, Kassidy Otten, Maya Reherman, Garret Rhodes, Hailey Ruybal, Kaitlyn Schmitt, Sydney Schubkegel, Jennifer Silva Corona, Claire Sluis, Ryan Smith, Hailey Voss, Meghan Watson, Brooklynn Weaver, Emily Wickes and Katie Williams.

Seventh grade: Kaleigh Bayer, Duncan Calkin, Erin Christiansen, Camren Cordell, Shelby Deaderick, Kathleen Duft, Emily Edwards, Brooke Elliott, Rebekah Ford, Hope Frihauf, Chantel Fugate, Zachary Geauthreaux, Solana Granados, Robert Grogan, Alexis Gurzick, Kaleb Harris, Keegan Hickerson, Jared Hlavac, Grant Hoven, Marcus Howell, Naomi Huffman-Wood, Kyle Kirkpatrick, Adam Knickerbocker, Emily Knickerbocker, Bjorn Krog, Mark Lamoreaux, Jessica Lee, Edward Liaboh, Corbin Lyman, Manzanita Moore, Lucero Munoz, Briana Olguin, Braxton Perez, Baylee Peterson, James Pope, Jack Pugh, Javier Quezada, Ty Ransford, Holly Redmond, Sarah Renfrow, Tyler Ruetschle, Natalie Serwe, Anthony Shortle, Sarah Smagacz, Taylah Steerman, Grace Stroud, Alaura Theobald, Garrett Trier, Galadriel Trussel, Nicholas Vasquez, Shae Waldo, Korbin Walsh, Gillian Wayne, Dillian Werts, Isabel Whitehead, Austin Woody and Steven Wyman.

Eighth grade: Aidan Aggeler, Madison Anderson, David Brooks, Ellen Campbell, Jennifer Carrasco, Clare Carroll, Orion Clay, Reilly Coker, Kimberly Crawford, Melissa Daigle, Montanna Daniel, Molly Dickinson, Gabrielle Dodd, Elizabeth Earl, William Eggleston, Tanessa Farley, Shaylan Garrett, Joseph Genualdi, Ava Hachmann, Jessica Hayden, Jennifer Huff, Nicholas Jernigan, Laitham Johnson, Brittney Ketchum, Christopher Kneen, Wilhelm Krause, Tyllor Ledford, Naomi Marquez, Rose Marx, Nicholas Mathews, Logan McGlamery, Matthew McLain, Seamus Millett, Garrett Moore, Audrey Morris, Madisen Norcross, Aleashea Prescott, Patty Rangel, Dianney Rodriguez, Jessica Salka, Clarissa Sampson, Adrian Sandoval, Jesse Santana, Alexandra Spencer, Zachry Szura, Collin Thorburn, Jenna Tucker and Molly Zink.

Durango PEO chapter celebrates 75th anniversary

PEO Chapter CS in Durango recently celebrated its 75th anniversary.

PEO is a philanthropic educational organization for women. Chapter CS was organized May 25, 1937.

The anniversary celebration was held at Kennebec Cafe. Guest speaker Duane Smith gave an informative narrative and slide show about life in Durango and the world in the 1930s.

Marguerite glass magnets were given as favors, and a raffle was held to raise money for educational scholarships for women.

Herald Staff