Education Briefs

Lucero Enlarge photo


Fort Lewis College students chosen as ambassadors

These local students were chosen as Admission and Welcome Center Ambassadors at Fort Lewis College:

Sunny Ketchum of Bayfield.

Ashlee Robison of Durango.

Anne Barby of Durango.

Johanna Dadisman of Durango.

Brittany Holland of Durango.

Ambassadors play a key role in the Office of Admission’s recruitment efforts by professionally and authentically representing Fort Lewis College to prospective students, their parents and family, the high school and community college guidance community, as well as visitors to the Durango area. Ambassadors are chosen through an application and interview process and are selected based on their campus involvement, their academic success (3.0 GPA or higher), their enthusiasm for FLC and their outgoing personality.

For more information, visit

Durango native recipient of wildlife award

The Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation announces Colin Wait is a recipient of the 2012 Gerald L. Turpin Wildlife Leadership Award.

A Durango native, Wait is a fish, wildlife and conservation biology major at Colorado State University. Wait joined the student chapters for the Society for Conservation Biology and The Wildlife Society. He participated in volunteer work days, helped to plan a tracking trip to Yellowstone National Park and organized a series of guest lecturers. He also spent the last decade as a volunteer for Colorado Parks and Wildlife.

Each spring, the foundation recognizes outstanding wildlife science college students through its scholarship program, the Wildlife Leadership Awards. The program awards scholarships to college juniors and seniors chosen for their leadership ability, dedication to wildlife conservation and scholastic achievements.

Awards include a $2,000 scholarship and one-year foundation membership.

For more information, visit or call (800) CALL ELK.

Two Durangoans chosen for talent competition

Chris Brophy and Tiffany Phillips of Durango have been chosen as finalists for the Colorado You Got Talent 2013.

They will represent the Western Slope at the state finals at the City Auditorium on Jan. 5 in Colorado Springs. Semi-finals for central and eastern Colorado will be held at the City Auditorium on Oct. 28.

For more information or tickets, visit

Felice Lucero graduates pharmaceutical school

Felice Lucero, a 2003 graduate of Cortez High School, graduated in May 2012 from Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus.

She is the daughter of Carol and Orly Lucero of Cortez. Lucero is the granddaughter of the late Jim and Edna Lea of Mancos, and John and Maize Lucero of Bayfield. Also sharing her accomplishment are her aunts Cathy, Clara, Emma Lou, Helen, Mary Ann and Salina; Uncles Arnie, Larry and Lloyd, and cousins and friends.

Animas Valley Elementary names Huskies of week

Animas Valley Elementary School announces these students were named Husky of the week for showing integrity, curiosity or commitment: Lyle Huff, Michael Gott, Olivia Miller, London Wheeler, Toby Kline, Maddie Stutey, Max Hinkle, Joel Pieroni, Haley Pieroni, Christen Whiteskunk-Heart, Jade Price-Boyce, Madden Harlan, Rose Reiter, Jasmin Ornelas Lariz, Jeremiah Rohrich, Isaiah Evans, Tiernan Stein, Ryan Littfin, Andre DiGiacomo, Shabrie Casey, Jackie McManus, Gage Akin Fields and Stephanie Herbst.

Herald Staff