DHS boys soccer nets 4 All-Stars

Demons’ Bowers and McAliney named to the All-SWL first team

A 9-4-3 record and yet another playoff berth begat some individual honors for the Durango High School boys soccer team.

The All-Southwestern League first team was dotted with a pair soon to be in the Demons’ past in senior defenders Ian Bowers and Seumus McAliney. Durango’s second-team selections – Nick Aggeler and Zeb Soignier – are part of the program’s future as juniors in 2012.

The honors capped yet another strong season for the typically strong Demons’ side, which bowed out in the first round of the playoffs, marking the first time in head coach Kenny Wood’s tenure that DHS hasn’t won at least one playoff game.

But despite not making it into the depths of the Class 4A field, Bowers said the all-league honors point to a legacy of quality play and standout players of DHS teams of a recent vintage.

“Personally, it’s a great honor,” Bowers said. “For the three years I’ve been playing high school soccer, it was kind of peripheral, not something you had in the front of your mind.”

Bowers and McAliney paced a defense that allowed an average of 1 goal per game in 2012, and their defensive prowess largely merited their selection.

They also chipped in some offense of their own from the back: Bowers led the team with five assists and scored three goals of his own; McAliney scored three goals and chipped in three helpers in his final season in a DHS uniform.

Aggeler and Soignier provided plenty of scoring punch to pace the Demons in 2012 and likely will be expected to carry the load offensively again in their senior seasons. Both juniors scored seven goals, second only to teammate Cameron Treeharne’s nine, providing DHS with a needed scoring jolt late in the season.

“It definitely means a lot because you kind of get recognized by other people. ... It’s nice to feel like, ‘Oh, other people saw my playing and thought I played really well,’” Aggeler said.

Wesley Padgett, who scored 14 goals for the Fruita Monument Wildcats, earned the league’s Player of the Year award, while his head coach, Dan McKee, took home the Southwestern League’s top coaching honor.

rowens@ durangoherald.com

Comments » Read and share your thoughts on this story