Education Briefs

Bianchi Enlarge photo


Local dancer receives scholarship

Local dancer Bernadette Bianchi, a student at Ballet Durango, won a $500 Beverly Miller scholarship award from the Costume Gallery, a national company that makes costumes for dance students across the country.

She is one of 26 students that received the award and the only Colorado recipient. Bianchi, a high school junior at Grace Preparatory Academy, dances under the guidance of Frances Rosser Taylor, director of Ballet Durango and is a teaching intern at Ballet Durango. She is also a member of The Durango Youth Ballet. Presently, she is working as an assistant for Judy Austin helping teach choreography to the angels, soldiers, mice and bon bons for the Santa Barbara State Street Ballet performance of “The Nutcracker” at Fort Lewis Community Concert Hall. Dance is her passion, which she hopes to pursue in college in addition to her love of Asian languages, culture, education and music.

Local students to tutor at FLC

These students have been certified as College Reading & Learning Association Tutors at Fort Lewis College: Anna Barendt of Ignacio; Devin Shannon of Durango; Garrett Harriman of Bayfield; Katie Dillon of Durango; Kathy Elliott of Durango; and Charles Clayton of Durango.

The College Reading & Learning Association is an internationally recognized group of higher education professionals in the fields of reading, tutoring, and mentoring.

For more information, visit

DHS to host leadership conference

The Durango High School Student Leadership program has been selected to host the 2013 Fall Colorado High School Activities Association Student Leadership Conference.

This will be the first time the student-leadership conference has been hosted by a school on Colorado’s western slope. The CHSAA Fall Student Leadership Conference will bring more than 500 student leaders from Colorado to Durango.

DHS’s bid was organized and presented at this year’s leadership conference by Garland, DHS council member Meredith Nass (Class of 2014) and DHS Student Leadership members Katja Max (2014), Logan Graham (2015) and Abi Moore (2015).

Herald Staff