FLC cyclists will chase title No. 21 in Wisconsin

Skyhawks announce their roster for cyclocross championships

A new edition of Fort Lewis College cyclists will try to collect another national cycling championship when the Skyhawks head to Madison, Wis., next month for the National Collegiate Cyclocross Championships.

The FLC team for the 2013 national championships were announced this week.

It will be pedaling for the 21st national cycling title in FLC history – the most recent national title coming in mountain biking at Angel Fire, N.M., in the fall.

The Skyhawks will be led by veterans Skyler Trujillo and Rotem Ishay, both of whom raced onto the national podium last year at the national cyclocross championships.

Trujillo finished second nationally among Division I men to Kerry Werner of Lees-McRae College of North Carolina.

Ishay was fifth.

The FLC men’s team will include Kolben Preable, Ryan Cleveland, Robbie Jones, Michael Sampson, Ben Stalker and Andrew Llewellyn.

The FLC women’s team will be led by Sarah Sturm, who finished fourth in the collegiate national cyclocross race last year.

Teammate Lauren Catlin, who was ninth last year, also will ride for the Skyhawks this year along with Tilly Field, Natalie Krantz, Brittany Clawson and Sophia Gomez.

Catlin is coming off a pair of a national championships in collegiate mountain biking.

Sturm, Clawson and Gomez also helped the Skyhawks win the national mountain bike championships this year.

The FLC cycling team is led by director Dave Hagen. Elke Brutsaert and Chad Cheeney are the FLC coaches.

Durango bike guru Jon Bailey is the FLC mechanic as the Skyhawks shoot for national honors at the home of the Wisconsin Badgers starting Jan. 9.

Last year, FLC finished second to Marian University of Indiana with the national cyclocross title decided by a tiebreaker. They finished with the same number of points, but Marian won the tiebreaker.

Lees-McRae was just one point behind in third.