Nominate nurses for Nightingale Award

Is there an extraordinary nurse in Southwest Colorado who has touched your life? Do you know a nurse who exemplifies the spirit of the nursing profession through advocacy, innovation or leadership? Consider nominating her or him for a Nightingale Award.

The Nightingale Award for Excellence in Human Caring was founded in 1985 to honor nurses who best exemplify the philosophy and practice of Florence Nightingale, a 19th-century nursing pioneer who epitomized the art of helping people toward their optimal health.

Registered nurses throughout the state are nominated in the fall of each year by solicitation from the Colorado Area Health Education Centers System and the Colorado Springs and Western Slope Nightingale committees. Luminary Award recipients are selected by the regions and forwarded to the state selection committee, which determines six Nightingale Award recipients. Also, each region hosts a local event for their nominees. In 2011, two nurses from La Plata County received one of the six Nightingale Awards.

The 2013 Nightingale/Luminary Award nominations and more information are available online at Nominations must be mailed by midnight Monday, Jan. 15. Show the people caring for you that you care about them.

Sherrod Beall


Most Read in Opinion



Arts & Entertainmentarrow




Call Us

View full site

© The Durango Herald