FLC 2nd at cyclocross nationals

Sturm, Ishay set pace for Skyhawks

The rivalry grows.

The Fort Lewis College cycling team extended its national rivalry last weekend with cycling powers Marian University of Indiana and Lees-McRae College of North Carolina at the USA Cycling Collegiate Cyclocross National Championships in Wisconsin.

The Skyhawks finished a close second behind Marian University after Sundayís menís national finals.

Marian, winning both the menís and womenís team honors, finished with 188 points.

Fort Lewis, second in menís and womenís standings, finished second in omnium scoring at 166 points.

Lees-McRae was third at 146. Lindenwood University of Missouri finished fourth in the Division I standings.

Fort Lewis veterans Sarah Sturm and Rotem Ishay led the Skyhawks with their third-place individual finishes.

Ishay finished behind only Kerry Werner of Lees-McRae, the national champion and 2011 collegiate mountain bike omnium winner, and Joshua Johnson of Marian.

Skyler Trujillo of Fort Lewis finished fifth in the national championship race. Teammate Ryan Cleveland was seventh.

Kolby Preble of the Skyhawks was ninth to give Fort Lewis four finishers among the top nine. Robbie Jones of FLC was 13th.

Kaitlin Antonneau of Marian repeated in winning the womenís Division I cyclocross championship.

Kimberly Flynn of UNC-Greensboro was second, just ahead of Sturm

Sofia Gomez of the Skyhawks was right behind in fourth place.

Brittany Clawson, who won a downhill national mountain bike championship for the Skyhawks last year, finished 12th in the national cyclocross finals.

Lauren Catlin and Nathalie Krantz of Fort Lewis were 14th and 15th, respectively. Matilda Field placed 10th for FLC.

Brevard College edged Mars Hill College for the Division II omnium in a battle of North Carolina schools. They tied with 177 points with Brevard taking the tiebreaker.

Colorado Mesa University finished third (137 points).