Homepage | The Durango Herald Mobile

Education Briefs

IHS announces third quarter Honor Roll

Ignacio High School announces that these students have been named to the third quarter Honor Roll:

Seniors: 4.0 Mary Kate Adams, Kayla Knipp, Barbie Lujan, David Storey, Tristany Valencia and Mariah Vigil; 3.6 Jessica Kirsch; 3.5 Jordan Cuthair, Austin Haire and William Taylor; 3.4 Breana Talamante-Benavidez; 3.2 Tracy Bean, Isaiah Valdez and Celsa Velasquez; 3.0 Seth Richards, Sha Ray Rock, Alexxandria Troup, Courtney Valdez and Nicole Williams.

Juniors: 4.0 David Baca, Jeannie Grossardt, Christian Knoll, Shannon Mestas, Kelton Richmond and Jayce Stricherz; 3.8 Blaine Ward; 3.7 Malli Benavidez, Gabriela Garcia, Cloe Seibel and Roshae Weaver; 3.5 Justin Ballew, Jacob Candelaria, Clayton Jefferson, Dylan Pearson, Raelynn Torres and Dallas Ulrich; 3.2 Cheyenne Cook, John House, Patricia Leroy, Fabian Martinez, Patazikivaa Perry and Rebecca Ward; 3.0 Justin Carver, Stais Harlan and De Ja Herrera.

Sophomores: 4.0 James Ballew, Vuong (Bill) Nguyen and Tyler Riepel; 3.7 David Cooper, Dynesha Drake, Adison Jones, July Stricherz and Cheyenne Zito; 3.5 Mitch Abendroth, Alex Lopez, Blaine Mickey, Alicia Naranjo and Miguel Perez; 3.2 Sarah Sitton and Ziyu Wang; 3.0 Tanisha Coyote, Samantha Parsons and Iaasic Pena.

Freshmen: 4.0 Cassandra Brown, Austin McCaw and Chrystianne Valdez; 3.8 Wyatt Hayes and Charles Rohde; 3.6 Grace Lister and Merri Maddox; 3.5 Wyatt Mickas and Tucker Ward; 3.3 Caleb Adams, Jerica Jackson, Chasity James and Antonia Mejia; 3.2 Alexandra Gearhart, Ruth Hessler, Shayna Johnson, Lillianna Romero and Anthony Suina; 3.1 Adelle Hight and Rebekah Powell; 3.0 Miel Diaz, Ellie Seibel and Javen Webb.

The following were named the IHS students and teacher of the third quarter:

Teacher of the Quarter: Tony Kimball.

Seniors: Mariah Vigil and Andy Guire.

Juniors: Cheyenne Cook and Kelton Richmond.

Sophomores: Dynesha Drake and Ziyu Wang.

Freshmen: Ruth Hessler and Charles Rohde.

Harrison Costello selected for program

Harrison ‘Chance’ Costello, a junior geological engineering major from Ignacio, has been selected to participate in a group of student leaders at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City, S.D.

The Professional Development Institute is comprised of student leaders dedicated to advancing professional development and leadership while increasing their own skills. Selected through a process of nomination, résumé review and interviewing, 35 students will serve three semesters, gaining leadership training. Additionally, students will engage in public outreach, including leadership and professional development training for area businesses, community and campus organizations, along with programming for kindergarten to 12th-grade students.

DHS Aerospace team places at competition

The Durango High School Aerospace Design team received a second place prize in the 2013 NASA Ames Space Settlement Design Competition in the large team category.

Of the entries, the DHS team’s proposal was ranked third overall, behind the grand prize winner from Cypress Bay High School in Weston, Fla., and the first prize winner from Mircea cel Batran National College, in Constanta, Romania.

The team’s second design proposal is going to press for nationals. Being in the top three for nationals will secure a spot for the World Finals held at Johnson Space Center in late July.

Herald Staff

Most Read in News



Arts & Entertainmentarrow




Call Us

View full site

© The Durango Herald