Clubhouse Porch

Go ahead and show some skin.

The Durango Dermatology “Skins” Game and Progressive Best Ball tournament is Saturday at the Hillcrest Golf Club. This is the most fun format of the season, as it goes as follows: one best net ball for the first six holes, two best net balls for the second six holes, three best net balls for the next five holes, and all four net scores for the 18th hole. Tee times will begin at 8 a.m. the day of the event; choose your own four-person team. The entry fee is $35, and there is $500 in added prize purse.

And please do not forget the Rally for the Cure Pink Ball Tournament on Sept. 3 at Dalton Ranch Golf Club. Rally for the Cure works to educate women about breast self-awareness and increase mammography screening rates to ensure early detection of breast cancer.

The third annual Birdie Fest to benefit Adaptive Sports Association will be held Sept. 4 at the Glacier Club. The Glacier Club, Hillcrest Golf Club and Dalton Ranch Golf Club each will send their club pros and top players to the Glacier Club to compete in a friendly 54 holes of golf to raise funds for the ASA, which is Durango’s outdoor sports and recreation program for people with disabilities. This year’s event is sponsored by Durango Motor Company and the R.H. Crossland Foundation. Each team will compete for the highest amount of birdies over 54 holes of a modified scramble format. Pledges can be made towards each team, either flat rate or per birdie.

Also, the 40th annual First National Bank 1-2-3-4 Person Best Ball will be held Sept. 6 at Hillcrest Golf Club. There is $500 in added prize purse and an entry fee of $35 per person. Ninety-percent handicaps will be used, and a team drawing will be held at 8 a.m. the morning of the event. Coffee and doughnuts will be served at 7:30 a.m., with a shotgun start at 9 a.m. Scoring will be net only.

Hillcrest Golf Club

Ska Brewing-Hillcrest Club Championships, Aug. 23-24:

Championship Flight

1. Kermitt Barrett, low gross, 140.

2. Gavin Lyons, 143.

3. Bob Barnhardt, 146.

1. Justin Lyons, low net, 140.

2. Greg Walsh, 141.

3. Andrew Crowell, 145.

Women’s Championship Flight

1. Jessica Thulson, low gross, 165.

2. Aimee Fladt, 173.

3. Laurie Simmons, 186.

1. Daphne D’Agostino, low net, 142.

T2. Lynne Andrew and Macky Headrick, 148.

First Flight

1. Rick Love, low gross, 154.

2. John Siegrist, 156.

3. Skip Vaughn, 163.

1. David Pierce, low net, 138.

2. Russ Pool, 144.

3. Ryan Cleveland, 145.

Second Flight

1. Joel Devin, low gross, 174.

2. Steve Boardman, 175.

3. Michael Anziano, 177.

1. Gary Meredith, low net, 144.

2. Ken Van Zee, 145.

3. John Francis, 147.

Third Flight

1. Richard Taylor, low gross, 173.

2. Jim Howell, 178.

3. Richard White, 181.

1. Brian Dommer, low net, 138.

2. Tom White, 147.

3. Randy O’Bannon, 149.

Fourth Flight

1. Mike Goen, low gross, 183.

2. Jo Warfield, 186.

3. David Gore, 189.

1. Charles Carman, low net, 138.

2. Mike Epson, 149.

3. Kevin Devine, 152.

Dave Bray has been covering the local golf scene for 33 years. He can be reached at

Most Read in Columnists



Arts & Entertainmentarrow




Call Us

View full site

© The Durango Herald