Tejay van Garderen is one of just three American riders in this year’s Tour de France, the lowest number since 1996.

Just 3 Americans will race Tour de France

As the Tour de France drew near, Jonathan Vaughters was still poring over power outputs and training results, trying to determine the nine riders...

Sports Extra


Nike co-founder Knight will step down as chairman

NEW YORK – Nike Chairman Phil Knight plans to step down, and said he wants President and CEO Mark Parker to succeed him.

Nike Inc. says it expects to name a new chairman in 2016, but no specific date was set for Knight’s departure. Knight, 76, says he plans to stay involved with the company.

Phil Knight co-founded Nike and has been a director of the footwear and athletic apparel and equipment maker since 1968. Parker has been...

Go to complete Sports Extra

More professional sports