Education Briefs

Two 9-R schools recognized as healthy

The Colorado Department of Education has recognized Fort Lewis Mesa and Animas Valley elementary schools as “Healthy School Champions.”

The CDE created an online “Healthy School Champion Score Card” for schools to assess their best practices in health education, health services, counseling, nutrition services and education, physical education, family and community involvement, staff wellness and healthy school environment.

As part of this achievement, representatives from Durango School District 9-R participated in a ceremony and breakfast April 3 in Denver. Each school was awarded $500 to further their work and maintain status as two of the healthiest schools in Colorado.

Fort Lewis Mesa was recognized for its efforts to change its emergency response system. Animas Valley was recognized for implementation of the “Health Smart Curriculum.”

For more information, visit

DHS announces student body representatives

These students were selected to represent the Durango High School student body:

Class of 2013: President, Emma Zink; vice president, Laura Pritchard; secretary/treasurer, Dante Ciotti; and member, Ben Marvin-Vanderryn.

Class of 2014: President, Garret Crowell; vice president, Meredith Nass; secretary/treasurer, Brad Briscoe; and member, Emma Marshall.

Class of 2015: President, Logan Graham; vice president, Abi Moore; secretary/treasurer, Tatum Shacklett; and member, Nate Curmano.

DHS announces Stars of the Month

These students are the Durango High School Stars of the Month for January and February for demonstrating positive character attributes, academic achievement and great success at the school: Sarah Barney, Abi Moore, Walker Rodman, Stephanie Bowles and Liam Hahn.

DHS student athletes receive recognition

The Colorado High School Activities Association recognized these Durango High School students for participating in three sports during the 2011-12 school year: Trenton Andrews, Dillon Anthony, Trevor Bogus, Patrick Cunnion, Emma Dorr, Casey Dunlap, Easton Garcia, John Gilleland,Trevor Gillen, Joseph Keresey, Shannon Maloney, Justin Marcum, Diego Martinez, Isiah Mayberry, Alastair McMillan, Justin Ngo, Dakota Sutherlin, Dominique Ward, River Weiss and Madeigh Winsor.

Molly McCue helps with theater production

Molly McCue of Hesperus helped with the Lake Forest College Department of Theater’s spring production of 44 Plays for 44 Presidents.

The college kicked off a national festival April 5, where 44 theaters plan to perform the same production of “44 Presidents,” originally written by Chicago’s Neo-Futurist Theatre Company. McCue’s role in the production was with the properties crew.

McCue is a graduate of Durango High School. The college is located in Lake Forest, Ill.

Animas Valley announces Huskies

Animas Valley Elementary School named these students Huskies of the Week for showing integrity or creativity: Anya Howell, Ray Cayaditto, Fred Reiter, Barron Bronson, Katelyn Smouse, Sydney Pritchard, Ryan Montoya, Anthony Flint, Aeden Hall, Paul Watson, David Rios Lucero, Jacey Zwart, Grace Kline, Ty Brown, Tristan Taber, Riley Mata, Sydney Pritchard, Ryan Montoya and Grace Kline.

Herald Staff