Education Briefs

FLC cycling team named No. 1

Fort Lewis College was named the No. 1 USA Cycling Collegiate Division 1 team in the nation for the third year in a row. These local students were a part of that success:

Durango: Colton Andersen, Taylor Borucki, Greg Carpenter, Anne Cheeney, Ryan Dorsey, Missy Erickson, Kenji Fortune, Howard Grotts, Kaila Hart, Ashlee Robison, Ben Stalker, and Dylan Stucki.

Mancos: Courtney Ott.

For more information, visit

Riverhouse receives grant for building

Riverhouse Children’s Center announces that it has received a $40,000 grant from the Qualistar Colorado Capital Fund to support the building of a new operating facility on Florida Road.

The center is a nonprofit, child-development center.

This funding will enable Riverhouse to complete its building project, provide additional employment opportunities and allow services to be expanded to more families. The grant is available to eligible nonprofit early childhood programs that wish to make permanent facility improvements tied to providing indoor and outdoor physical environments for children, families and staff.

For more information, call Kim Barker at 247-0204.

FLC announces local graduates

These local students graduated from Fort Lewis College on April 28:

Durango: Thomas Anderson, Elizabeth Ashworth, Jane Barden, Matthew Baskin, Neil Bourjaily, Aisylin Brennan, Joelle Burke, Melissa Camp, Micah Chapman, Alex Charpentier, Leigh Chrisman, Christopher Conrow, Stephanie Cook, Peter Dennerline, Devon Dey, Brittney DiPirro, Brandon Ellis, Melissa Erickson, Neal Faber, Tamara Flanery, Kenji Fortune, Laurel Foster, Clifford Fowler, Michael Freer, Danielle Ghear, Brittany Gockel, Hannah Greshow, Brice Gump, Nicolas Harnish, Spencer Heins, William Henk, Sarah Hileman, Alicia Hoelzer, Hayley Hollenga, Daniel Hosler, Edwin Howard, Erik Johnson, Jasmine Johnson, Lucy Jones, Matthew Jumper, Allison Kardas, Natasha Kaye, Aaron Kostyk, Aaron Kyser, Samuel Landercasper, Farran Leach, Samantha Lovas, Ian Lowell, Allison MacAulay, Elley McBrayer, Teraissa McGovern, Nellie McLean, John Meade, Nicholas Mellor, Eric Mencis, Megan Moomey, Matthew Morris, Mayda Mujica, Alex Norell, Alexandrea Ostergard, Elias Pfeifer, Heather Rivenes, Jonathan Rose, Harrison Scheider, Robert Schmidt, Devin Schreiner, Alena Simpkiss, Sheryl Skiles, Troy Sliter, Melisa Smith, Aubree Sorteberg, Autumn Speer, Robert Street, Dylan Stucki, Christopher Summers, Steven Talmage, Christopher Taylor, Ashleigh Ter Maat, Matilda Tredway, Bryce Turner, Sky Tussel, Logan Wacker, Megan Wallace, Rye Westwater, Katie Wilking, Jordan Willis, Ryan Wirth, Jane Worrall and Eden Zillioux.

Mancos: Alexander Beardsley, Trevor Downing, Jessica Hatley, Dustin Kane and Logan Ott.

Bayfield: Amanda Birr, Jaime DeMarco, Amy Ehlenbeck, Anna Jany, Daniel Leighton, Louis Madden, Lindsey Martinez, Jacob Miller, Kyla Norcross, Lia Oliver, Sherry Paddock, Joslyn Rowley and Corey Williamson.

Cortez: Dorotha Decker, Joshua Johnson and Bryttani Krob.

Pagosa Springs: Iris Frye and Casey Hart.

Ignacio: Richard Jefferson and Yvonne Phillips.

Hesperus: Hannah Miller.

Philip Ouellette named to Dean’s List

Philip J. Ouellette was named to the spring semester Dean’s List at Colorado School of Mines in Golden.

Ouellette earned a perfect 4.0 grade-point average for the semester, completing his third year in chemical engineering.

Ouellette is a 2009 graduate of Durango High School and currently is working for Conoco Phillips in Anchorage, Alaska, through an internship program. He is the son of Marta and Ken Ouellette of Durango.

Bayfield woman helps CSU win competition

Megan Semler from Bayfield and the rest of the Colorado State University Meat Science Quiz Bowl team won the 2012 national championship during competition at the American Meat Science Association’s professional conference at North Dakota State University on June 17.

To become national champions, the CSU group beat 29 other squads from 19 universities. The tournament had a “Jeopardy!” format.

The CSU team mastered a range of information about industry history, laws, meat quality, food safety, animal physiology and livestock growth and development.

Herald Staff