Log In

Reset Password
News Education Local News Nation & World New Mexico

Bayfield High School students shine at annual art competition

Event was held April 25 at BHS Gymnasium
The front entrance area of Bayfield High School, seen here on Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2024. (Matt Hollinshead/Durango Herald)

Multiple Bayfield High School students had strong showings during an annual art competition, held right in their own backyard.

Aside from winning awards in multiple categories, Ivy Hinkle, Martina Wagman and Tauer Crotty each won top honors for some of the more prestigious awards at the Intermountain League Art Show on April 25 at the BHS Gymnasium.

Hinkle’s acrylic painting was named Best of Show, Wagman’s oil painting won the Judges Choice 2D Advanced award, and Crotty’s ceramic and metal sculpture won the Judges Choice Advanced 3D art award, according to a news release on the Bayfield School District’s website.

There were about 600 pieces of art that were entered into the competition, the release said.

Alamosa, Bayfield, Pagosa Springs, Montezuma-Cortez, Alamosa, Centauri and Monte Vista all competed in the event, the release said. All six schools rotate hosting the event each year, and 2024 marked Bayfield’s time to do so.

Diane West of Diane West Jewelry and Art in Durango, former Fort Lewis College art teacher Barbara Klemia and Kasey Correia of Dancing Spirit in Ignacio judged the competition, according to the release.

First place Blue Ribbon winners (multiple categories)
Conner Martindale
Tauer Crotty
Leslie Gonora
Cera Stolworthy
Lucy Porter
Gabriella Vierheilig
Martina Wageman
Maia Otany
Second place Red Ribbon winners (multiple categories)
Joseph Vierheilig
Ashlyn Talbot
Wrenalee Moore
Keelie Knip
Mia Rae
Meeghan Burrows
Martina Wageman
Gage Diamond
Third place White Ribbon winners (multiple categories)
Mckenna Noonan
Noah Anderson
Lillian Chavez
Meeghan Burrows
Emma Vaughn
Audrey Knapp
Briauna Lawten
Isadora Brubaker
Ryker Owens
Ginny Fiest
Catherine Ludwig
Fourth place Green Honorable Mention Ribbon winners (multiple categories)
Meeghan Burrows
Brylee Sampley
Payton Montgomery
Ashlyn Talbot
Kambrie Byrd
Madelyn Owen
Lincoln Williams
Austin Wilmer
Granite Truby
Mckenna Noonan
Addison Ashby
Anna Vaughn
Mia Rae
Ivy Hinkle
Christiana Sutherlin
Ashley Schnider
Hannah Taylor


Reader Comments