Log In

Reset Password
Sports Youth Sports Professional Sports More Sports College Sports High School Sports

Candelaria scores First Team All-RMAC honors

Senior earns honor after leading conference in scoring
Sydney Candelaria of Fort Lewis College puts up a shot this season. Candelaria earned first team all-conference honors after leading the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference in scoring. (Jerry McBride/Durango Herald)

Fort Lewis College redshirt senior Sydney Candelaria on Wednesday was named to the first team of the All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference squad.

Candelaria upped her game in her final season with the Skyhawks, averaging 21.4 points per game to lead the conference and rank fifth in NCAA Division II. The Albuquerque native scored in double figures in all but two games this year and eclipsed the 30-point mark four times. Candelaria finishes her career eighth all-time in scoring and first all-time in single-season scoring with 578 points this season.

Her 21.4 points per game ranks first in program history, and 154 made free throws is an all-time best. Her senior leadership was invaluable to an FLC squad that teemed with youth.

Colorado Mesa University’s Daniella Turner was named RMAC Player of the Year.

Black Hills State’s Haylee Weathersby was named Freshman of the Year.

Colorado School of Mines’ Ashley Steffeck claimed the RMAC Defensive Player of the Year award after leading the league’s best defense with 114 steals.

After leading the Orediggers to a second consecutive regular-season title, head coach Brittany Simpson was named RMAC Coach of the Year.

Ten schools were represented on the 2021-22 RMAC Women’s Basketball All-Conference rosters, led by four selections from Colorado School of Mines. Colorado Mesa, Colorado State University Pueblo and Westminster had three selections apiece. Metropolitan State University of Denver claimed two spots, and Black Hills State, Fort Lewis, South Dakota Mines, University of Colorado Colorado Springs and Western Colorado rounded out the rosters with one honoree each.

The conference major awards, along with All-RMAC first and second teams were voted on by the conference’s 15 head women's basketball coaches. Coaches could not vote for their own student-athletes. Student-athletes who received one first team vote or two second team votes were named honorable mention.