Log In

Reset Password
News Local News Nation & World New Mexico Education

Durango Elks Lodge announces scholarship winners

The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Durango Lodge No.507, announces nine local scholarship awards, each for $1,000. Recipients were selected based on leadership accomplishments, academic achievement and financial need.

Shaylee Owen, Bayfield High School, was awarded a Colorado Elks Association Scholarship Grant. The grant is made possible by the Elks National Foundation through the Colorado Elks Association. Owen will attend New Mexico State University to study agriculture education and extension and family consumer sciences.

Maddy Abdella, Bayfield High School, was awarded the Fred Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship. She will attend Pueblo Community College to study business marketing.

These seven students will also receive scholarships:

  • Ivory Carpenter, Pagosa Springs High School, will attend North Carolina State University to study psychology.
  • Kylie Keuning, Pagosa Springs HighSchool, will attend Calvin University to study speech pathology and audiology.
  • Isabella Brand, Animas High School, will attend Macalester College to study humanities.
  • Mia Carrillo, Ignacio High School, will attend Colorado State University to study premed.
  • Rylie O'Connell, Bayfield High School, will attend Mesa Community College to become a veterinarian technician.
  • Savanah Maez, Durango High School, will attend Fort Lewis College to study psychology.
  • Stevi Cameron, Durango High School, will attend Northern Arizona University to study journalism/communication.

Upcoming 2022 seniors are invited to apply online for the Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Student Scholarship Contest. Applications are available in the fall and open to all seniors.