Log In

Reset Password
Opinion Editorial Cartoons Op-Ed Editorials Letters to the Editor

LLP arts class coordinators thank volunteers

The Leadership La Plata 2014-15 class met on Jan. 9 at the Durango Arts Center. We want to thank Ted Holteen who moderated the all-day session. A further shout-out goes to the panelists: Sheri Rochford-Figgs, Concert Hall Director Charles Leslie, Merely Players founders Mona Wood-Patterson and Charles Ford, Durango Arts Center Executive Director Cristie Scott, Sherri Dugdale, SteamPark Project Board members Terry Bacon and Carol Salomon, Fire Marshal Karola Hanks and City Councilor Dean Brookie. You helped us better understand how arts are funded, the importance of arts to education, and the issues surrounding the SteamPark project.

Thank you Durango DOT Comedy troupe members Andre Pierre-Louis, Jessica Dehen, Geoffrey Johnson and Tim Zink. You were entertaining and helped us reveal our creative sides.

Thanks to El Moro Tavern's Dave Woodruff for the delicious meal, Tim Kapustka for the tour of Studio &, and to our leadership instructor, FLC President Emeritus, Joel Jones.

Finally thank you Durango Arts Center for providing us a beautiful meeting place, to Durango Coffee Company for providing the refreshments, and to our session sponsor, The Wells Group.

Dick Imig and Petra Hinke

Class Co-ordinators