Log In

Reset Password
News Education Local News Nation & World New Mexico

Molly Orendorff declared winner in Bayfield school board race

Newcomer beat out incumbent by just 24 votes
Molly Orendorff won a seat on the Bayfield school board after a close race. (Durango Herald file)

La Plata County Clerk and Recorder Tiffany Lee said Thursday night that Molly Orendorff is the official winner of the third seat on the Bayfield school board after a tight finish.

Orendorff won by less than half a percentage point of the votes over incumbent Amy Davlin, but Lee said she felt comfortable officially calling the election. Orendorff will join other winners Debbie Wilhelm and Justin Talbot for four-year terms on the board.

“I am shocked at how close the votes were,” Orendorff said. “I am honored and excited to serve on the board, but I’m also sad that Amy won’t be able to continue with all of the hard work she has put in over the last four years. She poured her heart into our district and I am incredibly grateful for that.”

Orendorff comes from a strong education background previously working as a paraprofessional and a substitute teacher in Bayfield School District.

Davlin, who fell just short of being selected for a second term, was optimistic despite the loss.

“I’m proud of what we accomplished during my term and I’m grateful for the growth the role afforded me over the last four years,” she said. “I gave it my all and I’m disappointed I will not have the opportunity to continue the work for our Bayfield students in the future. Democracy is a beautiful thing and I respect the process.”

In La Plata County, Talbot led all candidates with 29% of the votes and Wilhelm came in second with around 26% of the votes. Orendorff outlasted Davlin 22.39% to 22.02% to win the final seat.


Reader Comments