Log In

Reset Password
Sports Youth Sports Professional Sports High School Sports More Sports College Sports

Skyhawks place fourth at national championships

Thompson, Quinn and Williams finish one second behind winners

The Fort Lewis College cycling team wrapped up its season at the Collegiate Road National Championships, held Friday through Sunday in Augusta, Georgia.

In the team time trial, the FLC women ended up finishing second in the varsity race in 51 minutes, 28.82 seconds, crossing just 18.35 seconds after the winner, Milligan University.

The FLC men, meanwhile, placed fourth in the team time trial in 46:17.46, crossing 2:28.55 behind the winner, Colorado Mesa.

In the women’s varsity road race, Michaela Thompson and Natalie Quinn both finished just one second behind the winner, Megan Jastrab of Milligan (3:08:11).

Thompson crossed eighth and Quinn ninth in 3:08:12.

Ava Hachman finished 15th in 3:08:17, Madelyn Roberson crossed 21st in 3:08.27, and Danica Brabec finished 26th in 3:08:56.

In the men’s road race, Nathan Colavolpe led FLC with a seventh-place finish in 2:49:23, 30 seconds behind the winner, Torbjorn Roed of CMU, after five laps.

Guy Leshem finished 17th (2:49:47), Nic Narraway was 24th (2:50:00), Luca Haines placed 33rd (2:53:52,) Sam Brown was 39th (2:55:56), Sam Reis was 47th (3:08:09), Ian Williams finished three laps and placed 52nd (1:48:11), and Kobi Gyetvan did not finish.

Williams, however, led the FLC men in the criterium in seventh place (1:18:59), one second after the winner, Ama Nsek of Milligan.

Gyetvan finished 15th in 1:19:00, Narraway finished 27th in 1:19:03, Brown crossed 32nd in 1:19:16, Haines finished 40th in 1:20:49, and Riess finished 42nd in 1:21:10.

Quinn led the FLC women in the criterium, crossing just five seconds after the winner, Jastrab, in 1:10:03 to place 15th.

Hachmann finished 18th in 1:10:06, Roberson placed 20th in 1:10:06, and Brabec placed 37th in 1:13:01. Thompson did not finish.

Colorado Mesa ended up winning the team omnium title with 448 points. Marian University (424) finished second, followed by Milligan University (411). Fort Lewis was fourth with 372 points.