Log In

Reset Password
News Education Local News Nation & World New Mexico

La Plata County elected officials sworn in Tuesday

Election brings in some familiar faces, some new

Newly elected officials in La Plata County were sworn in Tuesday.

The November election brought in some new faces, as well as some old. A total of seven people were sworn in Tuesday at the La Plata County Courthouse by Judge William Herringer.

La Plata County Sheriff Sean Smith, a Democrat, enters his second four-year term. Receiving 16,109 votes, he defeated Republican challenger Charles Hamby (10,449 votes) and unaffiliated candidate Dean Mize (1,573 votes).Clyde Church, a Democrat, will start his first term as a La Plata County commissioner. Church, a Falls Creek resident, beat incumbent Republican Brad Blake by a total of 23 votes. It will be the first time one party has held the entire three-member Board of County Commissioners since the 1940s.Incumbent Treasurer Allison Aichele, a Democrat, will also enter her second four-year term after beating Republican challenger Colton Black by a vote of 13,872 to 13,629, a difference of 243 votes. Aichele was first elected in 2014 after the retirement of longtime treasurer Ed Murray.Incumbent La Plata County Clerk & Recorder Tiffany Parker, a Republican who ran unopposed, will enter her third four-year term. Parker was first elected in 2010, beating Democratic candidate Karen Phelan. She has since run unopposed.Carrie Woodson will become La Plata County’s new assessor, after Craig Larson, who held the position for 32 years, retired. Woodson, a Democrat, ran unopposed and has worked at the office for more than two decades.La Plata County Coroner Jann Smith was also sworn in Tuesday. Smith was first appointed as coroner in 2012 after her predecessor, Carol Huser, left her term early. Smith, a Republican, was first elected in 2014, beating unaffiliated candidate Beverly Begay. Smith ran unopposed in November.Incumbent La Plata County Surveyor Steven McCormack was elected unopposed in November. McCormack was not in attendance Tuesday and but was previously sworn in by Parker. McCormack, a Republican, was appointed in 2015 and first elected in 2016.

Feb 21, 2019
Despite month in Mexico, La Plata County commissioner says he’s showed up for work
Jan 12, 2019
Has La Plata County shed its purple skin?
Dec 29, 2018
What to expect in 2019: Moisture, a land-use code, trial for the murder of Dylan Redwine?
Dec 28, 2018
2018: A review of the news in La Plata County
Nov 26, 2018
It’s official: Election results finalized 20 days after two close contests
Nov 15, 2018
La Plata County commissioner race decided by 23 votes
Nov 13, 2018
Aichele wins treasurer’s race; commissioner’s race still too close to call
Oct 11, 2018
Unopposed candidates in La Plata County outline accomplishments, goals

Reader Comments