Log In

Reset Password
Sports Youth Sports Professional Sports More Sports College Sports High School Sports

Seven Fort Lewis women’s lacrosse players get postseason awards

Carpenter, Duffey make All-RMAC first team
Fort Lewis College’s Ellie Carpenter was never afraid to shoot in 2016, and her 35 goals in 13 games earned her all-conference first team honors.

The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference announced its women’s lacrosse all-conference teams Wednesday, and seven Fort Lewis College women were among those honored.

FLC’s Ellie Carpenter and Katlyne Duffey were voted to the league’s first team, while All-RMAC Second Team awards went to Megan Longtain and Jam Vertner. Sara McMahon, Natalie Mitchell and Alyssa Spencer were given honorable mentions.

Carpenter was named to the All-RMAC Second Team the last two seasons, but she was rightfully named to the first team after a special 2016 regular season. The senior midfielder started all 13 games and leads the team with 35 goals and 42 points going into the conference tournament. She also leads the team in shots, draw controls and shots on goal. She is fifth in the RMAC in goals per game and is tied for third with three game-winning goals.

Duffey was also named to the All-RMAC Second Team in 2015 and was a 2016 Preseason All-RMAC selection. She has forced the second most turnovers per game in the RMAC with 2.23 and ranks fifth overall in ground balls per game with 2.85. She has also started every game for Fort Lewis this season.

Longtain also took the field on defense in every game and leads the Skyhawks with 38 ground balls heading into postseason play. Vertner, also an All-RMAC Second Team selection, is second on the team with 26 points, and her 16 goals are third best on the team.

McMahon has also started each game. She has racked up 20 goals and five assists. She has five hat tricks on the season and adds the honorable mention honors to last year’s All-RMAC First Team selection.

Mitchell has been strong on defense. She has caused 11 turnovers and grabbed 17 ground balls. Spencer, a redshirt junior, started every game in goal for FLC. She posted a 8-5-0 regular-season record and is sixth in the league with slightly less than six saves per game.

Regis freshman Wendy Donier took home offensive player of the year and freshman of the year honors. Lindenwood was rewarded for its dominant season, as Erin Abbot was honored as defensive player of the tear, Jordyn Constance was voted midfielder of the year, and Rachel Ortell was named goalie of the year.

Colorado Mesa’s Abigail Simpson was voted coach of the year. The Mavericks improved from 9-6 in 2015 to 11-3 this year.

Fort Lewis (8-5, 4-3 RMAC) is the fourth-seed in the RMAC Women’s Lacrosse Tournament and will open play at 1 p.m. Friday against tournament host and top-seed Lindenwood (13-2, 7-0 RMAC). No. 2 Regis and No. 3 Colorado Mesa will play in the other semifinal at 10 a.m., with the winners meeting in the championship at noon Saturday.


May 5, 2016
Fort Lewis names team for USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships

Reader Comments